Customer Comments We are PayPal Verified
Shopping Cart
0 items

National Curriculum

This is a short guide to what happens in your child's school and how you can help support their learning.

The National Curriculum can be quite lengthy for parents to grasp so hopefully these pages will clarify what children are taught at the different stages of school. As well as offering you a guide to the year groups and Key Stages, we explain the level that children should be seeking to attain at each keystage.

The National Curriculum, taught to all pupils in state or maintained schools, is made up of blocks of years, known as key stages:

Early Learning Foundation Stage Ages 2-5 Nursery and Reception
Key Stage 1 Ages 5-7 Years 1 and 2
Key Stage 2 Ages 7-11 Years 3, 4, 5 and 6

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a framework for children up to the age of five, setting out six key areas of learning around which activities should be based.

Early Years Learning Stage covers:

• Personal, social and emotional development
• Communication, language and literacy
• Problem solving, reasoning and literacy
• Knowledge and understanding of the world
• Physical development
• Creative development

Compulsory National Curriculum subjects are the same for Key Stages 1 and 2:

English Maths Science
Design and technology Information and Communication Technology (ICT) History
Geography, Art and design, Music, Physical education


The link below may help explaining term objectives that schools are set.

1  2  3